Feet Dreams: Taking a Step Even When You Don’t Know What Comes Next

Years ago, I had several dreams in a row where I was doing Reiki sessions for men. In the dream, I would be doing Reiki session on their feet and the wounds in their feet would heal

I didn’t really know what that meant at all. Richard said it meant I would be able to help men heal. I didn’t think that was possible. I didn’t even know if I was interested in that.

But then someone I care about ran a race and in the last half of the race their feet became numb. They ran anyway without complaining but it got me to thinking about the feet. The symbol of them. And also their work in a race.

Later, someone else I care about dreamed about having both feet cut off. Now the metaphor has my attention.

So what is it that I can say or do or write which will speak to this issue of feet? How is this different than the image of a bike in a dream? How does having strong feet make life so much better for men and for the women they love, their wives, partners, daughters?

Here’s what I know so far:

Feet in dreams are symbols for steps to take to get to where you want to go.

Remember: we humans have two natures – high and low. 

If we have experienced a lot of pain or trauma in the past (which everyone has to some degree or another) then what happens is the memory stays with us for a long time and we develop certain fears around the area where the trauma occurred. We might change our behaviours around a certain thing in order to do what we feel will keep us safe.

The problem is we were not meant to live in fear and sometimes what we do in order to say “safe” might actually prevent us from doing what our True Self wants us to do.

In this case, if the pattern sticks, it can be like the feet are cut-off metaphorically and it means not being able to take steps in the direction your True Self wants you to go.

If you dream of your feet having wounds, or being cut off all together, it means the trauma in your life (in the past?) has stopped you from doing what you are fully capable of. The dream wants you to notice this so you can heal from it and then take positive steps in a direction which will help you and others around you.

What you can do today is ask yourself: where in my life do I want to do something but I am holding myself back? What am I afraid of? What is one small thing I can do in the direction of facing my fear instead of letting it change what I want to do?

The experience of doing the difficult thing actually feels like you are being attracted to the difficult thing. It feels like you are seeing something really negative, noticing it is negative and not avoiding it. Usually big emotions open up after an exercise like this. Maybe crying, or shouting, or hiding. For everyone its different.

But just try it and see what happens.

What’s the worst that could happen?

You will just learn more about yourself and others and the environment we all live in and be a strong person for it!

Do it today! I believe in you and am rooting for you!!

 

Leave a Reply

