On Thursday, I was required by my court order to drive to Windsor to pick up my daughter after her 2 week visit with her dad from July ? to July 28, 2016. Two days before, the exclamation lights came on in my vehicle and a little announcement that the tire pressure was low. It also got me thinking that the oil might be low too.

So I researched what oil for the make and model of my car and found out there were two different kinds of engines – gas and flex fuel. I didn’t know the difference but noticed that the label on the oil cap of the engine said 5W-20 and that was the same as what Google’s top site told me is used for gas car so I picked some up at Walmart for $5.00 and topped it up.

I also used my portable tire pump which runs when it’s plugged into the car electrical outlet and filled all the tires. The light went out. I fixed it!

I traveled to Windsor from 1:30pm and arrived home around 6:30pm and it was fine. Two days later, on Saturday we went to the beach in Port Stanley and the car ran find But when I got home, I parked the car to drop off my daughter’s friend and then when I turned the key to start it again it wouldn’t start and the notice said “No key detected.” So I was turning the car on with a key and yet the car was not detecting a key.

I couldn’t help but wonder if putting the wrong kind of oil in would effect it’s running. Which may seem silly for those who may know one thing has nothing to do with the other but when you don’t know about a thing it takes a lot of investigating to find out what is connected and what is not.

So I asked Google about it and I found this site:

Five Things You May Not Know About Flex-Fuel Engines

On this site I learned that even though manufacture’s receive “Credits” or a bonus of sorts for making flex-fuel cars they are not actually more economical or more environment friendly.

It’s just another one of those things about the way our economic system works which is so puzzling.

If this were a dream, I’d want to go back to the dealership and ask more questions about the two different kinds of engines, gas use and oil use.

But it’s not a dream, it’s real life, and I just need to figure out how to get my car running again.

I’ll let you know.

 

 

Leave a Reply

