Positive Dreams: Holding a Positive Vision and Going for it

If we think of dreams as having meaningful messages for our growth & development, and we see that negative dreams show us where things can be flipped to positive, then what of dreams which are already positive?

Positive dreams show us what we are already good at. The dreams have images which bring us a degree of joy or satisfaction or accomplishment & they remind us of our strengths & potential. When I have a positive dream, I like to play it out in my mind all day, to dive right in and enjoy it!

Last night I dreamed I was taking a large group of children on an expedition. I was the leading supervisor for a group of school aged children but in order to leave the property a manager needed to accompany the group. The manager who joined us was awesome. She was energetic, happy, a bit carefree but yet focused, smart, diligent and compassionate. She was organized without being compulsive; responsible without being condescending.

She told us about a friend or colleague who had just died and she kept repeating the sound “OOhhh”…she said she herself kept hearing it everywhere, in people’s names, in songs, etc. She repeated it often and we realized it sounded like “Ohm!” so we all chanted this for a bit.

I thought it was really cool that she acknowledged this meaningful sound even in a work setting.

What this dream means is that I have the ability to be like that manager. All the traits she has are ones which I have in potential. Since the dream was good and the trek went well it’s showing me that I can move forward now and have this experience metaphorically to look forward to.

The challenge came in the dream when I was about to go on the trek and then thought of someone from my past. He wanted to join us and I told him he couldn’t. There was a bit of a tangled mess to get out of and I had to use my words wisely so that I didn’t say something which I would later regret.

Fortunately, I got back the group and we moved on.

So this tells me that when I deal with this issue, which is about getting tangled up in other’s drama, then I can detach with compassion and continue moving towards my goals using my innate and learned skills.

Anyone can do the same with a positive dream.

Just notice the great feelings and hold them all day long. Notice the positive people in the dream and ask yourself how you can be more like this today? I bet there will be an opportunity to do so and it will move you forward in the direction of your dreams.

Leave a Reply

